Been a long day

I had a bit of an early start today, and it seems like I wasn’t the only one who thought that on the train home.  I was rather bored but I’d spent a lot of the journey out there sketching.  This guy obligingly nodded off for 5 or 10 mins on the way home, thus giving me the chance for a proper sketch.  Bless ‘im.

Been a long day

Been a long day

I’m quite pleased that I finally had the balls to get a sketch book out in public again – it’s been a long time.  As soon as Mr Sleepy got off, another guy in a bright yellow puffer jacket and very brave (adventurously cool)  glasses got on and sat behind me.  Suddenly there was a “That’s very good!” in my ear, and a little face peeking through the seats behind me.  Quite gratifying really.

I must get out more.

~ by Rachel on January 7, 2009.

15 Responses to “Been a long day”

  1. Wonderful sketch, Rachel – I can almost hear him snoring!

  2. He IS very good 🙂 Good for you sketching in public 🙂
    Now… didn’t you say you did more picture…? 😉

  3. Looks perfect to me and very typical of a man sleeping–I would die if I woke up drooling or something ….

  4. Great sketch, really good.

  5. Fabulous sketch !!!

  6. Wonderful drawing! He really looks deeply asleep! You’ve captured him perfectly!

  7. Very good indeed. I do hope you’ll show some of the scenery ones.

  8. Thanks all! I might post some of the others, but as detailed below it’s quite a battle to get my scanner to do anything – scanning this took 2 attempts and one big crash. The landscape stuff is VERY sketchy though. Landscape has a tendency not to stay still for long when you’re on a train. 😀

  9. A very nicely created sketch..!!

  10. This is very good. You should not be shy about bringing out your sketchbook in public. It is a great way to relieve your boredom, but it is also fantastic for practicing sketching, working on your observation skills, and just capturing the everyday around you. I knew a woman whose whole “public transit” sketchbook was of people’s feet and shoes. She was too shy to stare at their faces while drawing, so she stared at their feet. It actually turned out to be a fascinating sketchbook!

  11. Lovely. It is a challenge, bringing our sketchbooks out in public. I’m facing this challenge myself and I have been making some kind of art since I was a child. I was more self assured in this way before I took something of a twenty year detour in career. That’s one of the reasons I like being a part of this group; I’m just another person growing not an artiste who is proud, too proud to take on the “little” challenges.

  12. Gosh, Rachel, this is really excellent. Really.

  13. This is great! I love the reflection of his face in the window. Looking forward to more.

  14. Loved this one! As we would say in Germany, “Koestlich!” It’s a always a bit odd for me to sketch in public, but with skills like these, don’t be shy!

    Cheers,
    – Lee (drawninblack.com)

  15. Wouldn’t it be funny if the sleeper saw himself here on your blog and recognised himself?! You are very brave to draw in public – lovely work and nice that someone appreciated it right away!

Leave a Reply

 
