Going back a bit

A friend made a comment about my IF: Wise picture that it reminded him of some of my early illustrative stuff.  And I mean early – we’re probably talking about 1995 here.  Thought I might post a couple anyway – I think the common theme is the warm colours on a dark background.  See what you think – they’re quite silly.

The Visitor

The Visitor

This one sold suddenly in 2005 and I rather missed having it around.  There was no reason for my doing it, it just sort of happened.

IF: Balloon

most sane and sunly

most sane and sunly

In the spirit of recycling, I’ve submitted this as an Illustration Friday entry as well.  How very green of me, not to waste paper like that.

This one had a bit more of a purpose – I was illustrating a poem by e e cummings called ‘love is more thicker than forget’ and this was after the verse:

it is most sane and sunly; and more it cannot die

than all the sky, which only; is higher than the sky.

There’s another illustration for the  ‘most mad and moonly’ verse, but I’m not sure what I did with the photo.  I love e e cummings – I’d urge anyone who hasn’t come across him to have a quick Google.

~ by Rachel on November 22, 2008.

3 Responses to “Going back a bit”

  1. These are just great—a wonderful sense of design and color…I’d love to see more! On the Moleskine paper–I agree it is the greatest!

  2. Wonderful work – you’ve been talented for a very long time. I’m glad you shared these – they’re lovely.

  3. p.s. ‘most sane and sunly’ – i love that!

Leave a Reply

 
